clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USC center Khaled Holmes one of 6 finalists for Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in college football.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-US PRESSWIRE

Senior center Khaled Holmes of USC has been nominated for the Rimington Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation's top center.

Holmes has played the last three years on the offensive line and started the last two at center for the Trojans. Along with the Rimington Award, Holmes is also an Academic All-American candidate. In 2011, he earned All-Pac-12 second team honors.

In 2012, Holmes anchored an offense that averaged 296.9 yards passing and 155.0 yards on the ground. The Trojans averaged 34.2 points per game and scored a season-high 51 in a loss to then No.4 Oregon on Nov. 3.

The winner of the trophy will be announced on Dec. 6 before the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards show. The winner will also be recognized during pre-game festivities at the BCS National Championship game on Jan. 7.

The finalists for the award are listed below:

Mario Benavides (Louisville)
Braxston Cave (Notre Dame)
Dalton Freeman (Clemson)
Khaled Holmes (USC)
Barrett Jones (Alabama)
Matt Stankiewitch (Penn State)