clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Barkley, Marqise Lee named semifinalists for Maxwell Award

USC Trojans Matt Barkley and Marqise Lee are semifinalists to win the Maxwell Award.

Jeff Gross

USC Trojans' quarterback Matt Barkley and receiver Marqise Lee are among the list of 16 semifinalists to win the 2012 Maxwell Award for the collegiate player of the year, club president Ron Jaworski announced Monday.

Barkley has thrown for 2,266 yards, 25 touchdowns and only eight interceptions this season for the 6-2 Trojans. He is the only returning semifinalist from the 2011 Maxwell Award semifinalist group.

Lee has been one of Barkley's favorite targets, catching 76 balls for 1,129 total yards and 10 touchdowns through eight games. The sophomore wide receiver had a record-setting outing on Saturday, when he caught 16 passes for a Pac-12 record 345 yards. He also had 123 yards on three kick returns in USC's 39-36 loss to the Arizona Wildcats.

Pac-12 players of the semifinalist list include Oregon's De'Anthony Thomas and Kenjon Barner, along with UCLA running back Johnathan Franklin.

Other big names include A.J. McCarron of Alabama, Collin Klein of Kansas State and Manti Te'o of Notre Dame.