clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Pac-12 Conference To Have North & South Divisions Starting In 2011

New, 2 comments

The Pac-10 Conference today formally announced its split into two football divisions in a new 12-team conference, beginning next season. Conference commissioner Larry Scott called this "a truly historic day for the Pac-12 Conference," as the conference will expand for the first time since 1978. The Colorado Buffaloes and Utah Utes will join the conference beginning in the 2011 season, and the conference for the first time will have a conference title game.

Here are the divisions for football:

  • South: USC, UCLA, Arizona, Arizona State, Colorado, Utah
  • North: Washington, Washington State, Oregon, Oregon State, Cal, Stanford

Each division will play five games against their own division -- one against each team -- and four from the other division. USC and UCLA were able to designate Cal and Stanford as their natural rivals, meaning they will still play one another every year.

The team with the best conference record will host the conference championship game each season, meaning there will be no neutral site games. In addition, beginning in 2012, the conference will have equal revenue sharing among the 12 schools.

For more information, be sure to read the SB Nation blogs for USC (Conqeust Chronicles) and UCLA (Bruins Nation).