clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rose Bowl Hall of Fame inducts John Cooper, Brian Griese, Ron Yary

John Cooper, Brian Griese and Ron Yary were all enshrined in the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Saturday.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame officially welcomed in John Cooper, Brian Griese and Ron Yary Saturday afternoon for their accomplishments in the oldest bowl game in the history of college football.

Cooper is the only head coach in the history of the game to lead both Pac-10 and Big-10 schools to Rose Bowl victories. The College Football Hall of Famer did it first with Arizona State in 1987 then again with Ohio State in 1997.

Griese, a former Michigan quarterback, was the Player of the Game in the 1998 Rose Bowl after he completed 18-of-30 passes for 251 yards and three touchdowns. The Wolverines won that game 21-16 over Washington State to cap off their 11-0 season.

Yary was a two-time All-American offensive lineman at USC who played in two Rose Bowl games as a junior and senior. In his last visit to Pasadena, the Trojans won the national championship, and Rory also took home the Outland Trophy for the nation's best interior lineman.

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame has enshrined 104 inductees since it was originally established in 1989.