clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Sixth Man Of The Year: Lamar Odom, Kobe Bryant, Magic Johnson, Michael Cooper, & The Lakers History With The Award

There is a 3 p.m. PDT press conference in Los Angeles on Tuesday afternoon, where it is widely expected that Lamar Odom of the Los Angeles Lakers will win the 2010-2011 NBA Sixth Man of the Year. Odom would be the first Los Angeles Laker to win the award, although in 1987 Michael Cooper won the Defensive Player of the Year despite starting only two games. Here is a look back at the Lakers' history in the Sixth Man award voting, dating back to its inception in 1983:

2010: Odom finished sixth

2009: Odom finished fourth, Trevor Ariza finished 17th

2008: Jordan Farmar (really?) finished 11th

2002: Robert Horry ("for the win") finished tied for eighth

1998: Kobe Bryant finished second, a close loss to Danny Manning of Phoenix

1996: Magic Johnson came back, played 32 games, and finished fifth

1990: Orlando Woolridge finished tied for third

1987: Cooper, the Defensive Player of the Year, finished third

1986: Cooper finished tied for fourth

For more news and information on Lamar Odom or the Lakers, be sure to read the SB Nation blog Silver Screen and Roll.