clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Kemp Wins Roy Campanella Award

Matt Kemp is having a great season for the Los Angeles Dodgers, and will be involved heavily in the discussion for National League MVP. We won't know the results of that award until November, but we do know now that Kemp won the 2011 Roy Campanella Award, given annually to the Dodger who best exemplifies the spirit and leadership of the former Brooklyn Dodger catcher.

The award is voted on by all Dodgers uniformed personnel, players and coaches, which shows Kemp's standing in the clubhouse. The Roy Campanella Award has been given out since 2006. Here are the past winners:

  • 2006: Rafael Furcal
  • 2007: Russell Martin
  • 2008: James Loney
  • 2009: Juan Pierre
  • 2010: Jamey Carroll

Kemp is hitting .320/.398/.565 this season with 34 home runs and 40 stolen bases, joining Raul Mondesi as the only Dodger members of the 30/30 club. Kemp leads the National League in both runs scored (103) and RBI (113). He will be presented with the award before Wednesday night's game at Dodger Stadium, by Campanella's daughter, Joni Campanella Roan.

Tuesday night's 7:10 p.m. PDT game will be televised by Prime Ticket. For a detailed series preview, be sure to read True Blue LA.