clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 National League Cy Young Award: Clayton Kershaw Hopes To Continue Dodgers History

The Los Angeles Dodgers have had a rich history with the Cy Young Award, winning the honor more times than any other franchise in history. Clayton Kershaw had a fine season in 2011, going 21-5 with a 2.28 ERA and 248 strikeouts, winning the traditional pitching triple crown. The 23-year old Kershaw looks to become the eighth Dodger to capture the Cy Young Award, and the first since 2003.

Here are the Dodgers past Cy Young Award winners:

  • 2003: Eric Gagne (1.20 ERA, 55-for-55 in save opportunities, 137 strikeouts in 82 1/3 innings)
  • 1988: Orel Hershiser (23-8, 2.26 ERA, ended season with 59 consecutive scoreless innings)
  • 1981: Fernando Valenzuela (20-year old rookie opened season 8-0 allowing four runs in 81 innings)
  • 1974: Mike Marshall (The doctor set relief records with 106 games and 208 1/3 innings)
  • 1966: Sandy Koufax (27 wins, 1.93 ERA in final season at age 30)
  • 1965: Koufax (26 wins, then-MLB record 382 strikeouts)
  • 1963: Koufax (25-5, 1.88 ERA, 306 strikeouts)
  • 1962: Don Drysdale (25-9, 2.83 ERA, led league with 242 strikeouts)
  • 1956: Don Newcombe (27 wins; captured the very first Cy Young Award, which was an MLB award back then, not one for each league)

Will Kershaw join this illustrious group? We will find out at 11 a.m. PST when the Baseball Writers Association of America announces the winner.

For a look at Clayton Kershaw and the history of pitchers winning the triple crown and their Cy Young Award fate, be sure to read True Blue LA.