clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Angels Mike Trout and C.J. Wilson named AL Gold Glove Award finalists

New, 1 comment

Trout and Wilson both have a shot at capturing their first Gold Glove Award.

Jamie Squire

Mike Trout and C.J. Wilson of the Los Angeles Angels on Monday were named finalists for an American League Gold Glove Award at their respective positions. The awards, which were voted on by managers and coaches of the same league, will be announced on Tuesday night at 6 p.m. PT on ESPN2.

Managers and up to six coaches from each team are allowed to vote for Gold Glove winners at all nine positions, but aren't allowed to vote for players from their own team.

Trout figures to be busy during award season, as he is a lock for American League Rookie of the Year and will likely either be first or second in the AL Most Valuable Player voting, fighting with triple crown winner Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers for the latter.

Trout is a finalist for a Gold Glove in center field, along with Austin Jackson of the Detroit Tigers and Adam Jones of the Baltimore Orioles. The last Angels outfielder to win a Gold Glove Award was Torii Hunter, who in 2009 won his ninth Gold Glove.

Wilson is a finalist at pitcher along with Jake Peavy of the Chicago White Sox and Jeremy Hellickson of the Tampa Bay Rays. The only pitcher in Angels history to win a Gold Glove Award was Mark Langston, who captured the honor five straight seasons from 1991-1995.