clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Baseball Hall Of Fame: Barry Larkin Elected, Lee Smith Reaches 50%

The Baseball Writers Association of America on Monday announced the vote totals for the National Baseball Hall of Fame, and shortstop Barry Larkin was elected to Cooperstown in his third year on the ballot with 86.4% of the vote. There were three others to receive at least 50% of the vote (with 75% required for election): Jack Morris (66.7%), Jeff Bagwell (56.0%), and Lee Smith (50.6%).

For Smith, it was his highest vote total in 10 years on the ballot. The former all-time saves leader still has five years to make up the other 25% for election, but faces a tough competition as the ballot will become saturated with several great players, controversial or not, like Greg Maddux, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Tom Glavine, Randy Johnson, and more.

Lee Smith Hall of Fame Voting
Year Vote%
2003 42.3%
2004 36.6%
2005 38.8%
2006 45.0%
2007 39.8%
2008 43.3%
2009 44.5%
2010 47.3%
2011 45.3%
2012 50.6%

Former Angels outfielder Tim Salmon received five votes for the Hall of Fame in his first year on the ballot, but that was just 0.9%, well short of the five percent needed to remain on the ballot for next year.

For more news and notes on the Angels, be sure to read Halos Heaven.