clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Angels Shortstop Erick Aybar Wins First Gold Glove

After years and years of Derek Jeter claiming the Gold Glove for the American League, a change has been made in 2011. Angels shortstop Erick Aybar won the award for the first time in his career on Tuesday night. No other Angels won the award, though Dan Haren, Torii Hunter and Peter Bourjos were all nominated.

According to FanGraphs and their UZR ratings, Aybar ranked in the middle of the pack among qualified American League shortstops. He ranked 10th in Defensive Runs Saved. Again, though, these awards are usually given to the players who pass the eye test instead of the statistical test and the award is something for Aybar be very proud of.

Outside of the Angels, the Dodgers and Red Sox led the packs with three Gold Glove recipients. Mark Buehrle of the White Sox won the award for the third straight season. Yadier Molina of the world champion Cardinals won the award for the fourth straight year behind the plate.