clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryder Cup 2012: Team Europe goes for second-straight win

The Europeans have dominated recent Ryder Cup history, and with a squad featuring the world No. 1, they look to continue their success in 2012.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Kevin C. Cox - Getty Images

The 2012 Ryder Cup begins on Friday at Medinah Country Club in Medinah, Ill., and the European team will be looking for their second-straight victory in the biennial competition.

Team Europe is led by captain José María Olazábal. The headliners for the team include young sensation and world No. 1, Rory McIlroy, who will be participating in his second Ryder Cup. McIlroy went 1-1-2 in 2010.

Justin Rose returns to the team after missing the 2010 event. He has one Ryder cup appearance in 2008, when he went 3-1-0 in a losing effort. Rose made his way onto the team by virtue of his win at the 2012 WGC Championship.

Sergio Garcia will be playing in his sixth Ryder Cup, having been on the winning side three times. The 32-year-old boasts a 14-6-4 career record and has won 67 percent of the possible points for Team Europe in his matches. Garcia earned an automatic bid to the squad when he won the Wyndham Championship.

For profiles of every golfer, head to the Ryder Cup's official site.

Complete roster for Team Europe:

José María Olazábal -- Captain

Nicolas Colsaerts

Luke Donald

Sergio Garcia

Peter Hanson

Martin Kaymer

Paul Lawrie

Graeme McDowell

Rory McIlroy

Francesco Molinari

Ian Poulter

Justin Rose

Lee Westwood

Thomas Björn -- Vice Captain

Darren Clarke -- Vice Captain

Miguel Angel Jiménez -- Vice Captain

Paul McGinley -- Vice Captain