clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2012 MLB Postseason Schedule: World Series Could End November 1

Are you ready for November baseball? If the 2012 World Series goes the distance, Game 7 will be played on November 1, as Major League Baseball released its postseason schedule on Thursday.

Both the Angels (American League second wild card) and Dodgers (National League West) are a game and a half out of a playoff spot entering play on Thursday, but should they advance to the postseason, here is the schedule.

The regular season ends on Wednesday, October 3. For the first time, teams from the same division can play one another in either the wild card game or the division series. Also, if two teams tie for a division they will hold a playoff even if both are assured a postseason spot. This is because winning the wild card only allows for a play-in game, while winning a division at least assures a best-of-five series.

The two wild card games will be played on Friday, October 5, and both games will be televised by TBS. Winners will advance to play the top seed in each league in the division series. For this year only, since the second wild card was essentially shoehorned in after the schedule was decided, the division series is a 2-3 format rather than 2-2-1.

Division Series (between division winners)

Game 1: Sat, Oct 6 at lower seed
Game 2: Sun, Oct 7 at lower seed
Game 3: Tue, Oct 9 at higher seed
Game 4: Wed, Oct 10 at higher seed
Game 5: Thu, Oct 11 at higher seed

Division Series (between division winner and wild card)

Game 1: Sun, Oct 7 at lower seed
Game 2: Mon, Oct 8 at lower seed
Game 3: Wed, Oct 10 at higher seed
Game 4: Thu, Oct 11 at higher seed
Game 5: Fri, Oct 12 at higher seed

In all, 18 of a possible 20 division series games will be televised by TBS, with MLB Network chiming in with two games, one on October 7 and another on October 10.

American League Championship Series (TBS)

Game 1: Sat, Oct 13 at higher seed
Game 2: Sun, Oct 14 at higher seed
Game 3: Tue, Oct 16 at lower seed
Game 4: Wed, Oct 17 at lower seed
Game 5: Thu, Oct 18 at lower seed
Game 6: Sat, Oct 20 at higher seed
Game 7: Sun, Oct 21 at higher seed

National League Championship Series (Fox)

Game 1: Sun, Oct 14 at higher seed
Game 2: Mon, Oct 16 at higher seed
Game 3: Wed, Oct 17 at lower seed
Game 4: Thu, Oct 18 at lower seed
Game 5: Fri, Oct 19 at lower seed
Game 6: Sun, Oct 21 at higher seed
Game 7: Mon, Oct 22 at higher seed

The World Series will be televised by Fox, with a potential Game 7 on November 1. By virtue of their 8-0 victory in the 2012 All-Star Game, the National League has home field advantage in the Fall Classic.

World Series

Game 1: Wed, Oct 24 at NL
Game 2: Thu, Oct 25 at NL
Game 3: Sat, Oct 27 at AL
Game 4: Sun, Oct 28 at AL
Game 5: Mon, Oct 29 at AL
Game 6: Wed, Oct 31 at NL
Game 7: Thu, Nov 1 at NL

For more news and notes on the Angels, be sure to read Halos Heaven. For all your Dodgers news, be sure to read True Blue LA.