clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Indy 500 Lineup: A Look At Pole Position Holder Ryan Briscoe

The 2012 Indianapolis 500 will be held on Sunday. Southern California drivers Townsend Bell and Charlie Kimball are both in the running for the most prestigious checkered flag in IndyCar and the only IndyCar race that most people in the world can actually name.

The pole position holder for the big race is Ryan Briscoe, an Australian driver who will be piloting the No. 2 car. This is the 11th pole in Briscoe's IndyCar career. He has six career IndyCar wins and the highest he has ever finished in an Indy 500 was fifth place in 2007. This is Briscoe's first year using a Chevrolet engine. He has not had an IndyCar win since 2010.

You can find complete information about the next week's worth of events on the official Indy 500 website.

For more information and coverage of the 2012 Indy 500, keep checking this StoryStream. For all of the comings and goings in the world of IndyCar, please visit SB Nation's dedicated IndyCar blog, Pop Off Valve.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube