clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Phoenix Results: Kevin Harvick Runs Out Of Gas With Two Laps To Go, Takes 2nd Place Behind Denny Hamlin

The Subway Fresh Fit 500 took place on Sunday at the Phoenix International Raceway in Arizona. The second race of the 2012 Sprint Cup Series saw a strange and unfortunate finish for Bakersfield native Kevin Harvick.

Due to some miscalculations, Harvick's car ran out of fuel with just two laps remaining in the 312-lap race. He was unable to overtake Denny Hamlin as a result, having to settle for second place. Harvick had led for nearly 90 laps in the race.

Jeff Gluck of SB Nation spoke with Harvick following the race. Harvick managed to keep a good attitude about the fuel mistake.

"When you come out of caution and they tell you you're nine laps short, you really don't think there's any possibility to make it," Harvick said. "But a couple cautions and a little bit of saving and a little bit tighter crunch on the numbers, we wound up about a lap short. But those are the types of things you've got to do to take the chances, and when you're close enough to at least coast around, they did a good job."

Following his second-place finish on Sunday and his seventh-place finish at the Daytona 500, Harvick is now sitting pretty in third place in the early going of the 2012 Sprint Cup chase, holding 81 points. Hamlin is in first place with 89 points, while back-to-back third-place finishes put Greg Biffle in second place overall with 83 points.

You can check out the full results of the race below.

Introducing the SB Nation YouTube Channel | Subscribe Now | Follow @SBNStudios

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Greg Biffle
  4. Jimmie Johnson
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Jeff Gordon
  9. Mark Martin
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Juan Pablo Montoya
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Matt Kenseth
  14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  15. Kurt Busch
  16. Bobby Labonte
  17. Carl Edwards
  18. AJ Allmendinger
  19. Travis Kvapil
  20. Regan Smith
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Tony Stewart
  23. Dave Blaney
  24. Mike Bliss
  25. David Ragan
  26. JJ Yeley
  27. Brendan Gaughan
  28. David Gilliland
  29. David Stremme
  30. Clint Bowyer
  31. Paul Menard
  32. Marcos Ambrose
  33. Jeff Burton
  34. Kasey Kahne
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. David Reutimann
  37. Jamie McMurray
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Casey Mears
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Robby Gordon
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Michael McDowell

For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.