clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall Of Fame 2012: Snubs And A Look To 2013 Candidates

Los Angeles had a chance to have three representatives in the 2012 Pro Football Hall of Fame class. However, when the selections were announced on Saturday, the trifecta of Tim Brown, Kevin Greene and Jerome Bettis were all snubbed by the votes. The three will have another chance to be elected next year, but they will face an even deeper class of candidates.

In 2013 there will be a new crop of eligibles for the Hall of Fame. These include Larry Allen, Morten Andersen, Priest Holmes, Steve McNair, Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp, Michael Strahan and Bryant Young. Two of those players in next year's incoming eligibles have Southern California ties.

Larry Allen was born in Los Angeles and went on to a prestigious NFL career as a guard for the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers.

Jonathan Ogden was a standout offensive tackle with the UCLA Bruins and was a first-round draft pick, going as the No. 4 overall selection to the Baltimore Ravens in the 1996 NFL Draft. He played his entire twelve-year career with the Ravens and being selected to 11 Pro Bowls.

Also up for selection once again will be running back Roger Craig, who played on the Los Angeles Raiders in 1991. Craig did not make the list of finalists this year.

For more on former Los Angeles players and the Hall of Fame, go to SB Nation's LA Hall of Fame stream.