clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Breeders' Cup: History, by the numbers

Who wants some fun history facts on the 2012 Breeders' Cup?

Jeff Gross

Here are all the facts you need to know about the Breeders' Cup.

The Breeders' Cup begin in 1984 as a seven-race, one-day event, with prize money totalling up to $10 million. It later expanded to 15 races in two days, with prize money now piling over $25.5 million. Nearly a dozen tracks have been used to host the event, most of them taking place at the famed Churchill Downs.

Only one horse has won three Breeders' Cup races (Goldikova), and only one horse has won two races (Tiznow) The United States is the most decorated country by a wide margin (188), with Ireland a distant second (23). D. Wayne Lukas (18 winners) is the most successful trainer, while Jerry Bailey and Mike Smith (15 winners) are the most successful jockeys.

Here's a list of all the payouts from the Breeders' Cup since 1984. You can access the document on Google Drive, thanks to Matt gardner of And Down The Stretch They Come.