clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Breeders' Cup has rich history at Santa Anita

The Breeders' Cup has previously been held in Santa Anita five times since 1986.

Harry How

The Breeders' Cup has a rich history at Santa Anita Park as it has been held there five times since 1986. Below are the highlights of the Breeders' Cup from each of the years that it has been in in Santa Anita.

1986 - Lady Secret became the first Breeders' Cup champion to be named Horse of the Year while Skywalker led the Breeders' Cup Classic from start to finish.

1993 - Bertrando, the favorite in the Breeders' Cup Classic was surpassed by the unknown Arcangues who won by two-lengths. Arcangues had 133-1 odds in the race.

2003 - Despite entering as a 14-1 shot in the Breeders' Cup Classic, Pleasantly Perfect won by the race by 1.5 lengths.

2009 - Zenyatta entered the Breeders' Cup undefeated and left by winning the Classic to become the first-ever female to win the event.

2010 - Zenyatta's attempt at her second consecutive Breeders' Cup title fell short when she was narrowly defeated by 4-year-old Blame in what is considered one of the most dramatic horse races of all-time.

For complete coverage of the 2012 Breeders Cup, see Matt Gardner's coverage on SB Nation.