clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Shooting Stars: Where Rick Fox Is An NBA Legend

The 2011 NBA All-Star Saturday Night is usually remembered for the slam dunk contest, and occasionally the three-point contest, but there are also two other events as well. The competition kicks off at Staples Center tonight with the Haier Shooting Stars. This event features four teams in a shooting competition, and each team is comprised of an NBA player, a WNBA player, and an NBA legend.

However, the term "legend" seems to be thrown around loosely. The NBA legends competing are Steve Smith, Steve Kerr, Rick Fox, and Kenny Smith. Here are the teams:

  • Team Atlanta: Al Horford, Coco Miller, Steve Smith
  • Team Chicago: Taj Gibson, Catherin Kaayveld, Steve Kerr
  • Team Texas: Dirk Nowitzki, Roneeka Hodges, Kenny Smith
  • Team Los Angeles: Pau Gasol, Tina Thompson, Rick Fox

As for the rules, the NBA explains:

There are six numbered shooting locations of increasing difficulty, with each team attempting to make all shots in numeric order in the fastest time. Each team will select a specific player rotation to follow throughout the competition. Each shot must be made before the next player begins shooting in succession. Teams have up to two minutes to complete the entire shooting course and the team that completes all six shots in the least amount of time is declared the winner. In the case of a tie, a shoot-off will be used to determine the winner.

NBA All-Star Saturday night coverage begins at 5:30 p.m. PST on TNT.