clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 NBA Three-Point Contest: Time, Broadcast Info, Competitors, Etc

The 2011 NBA Three-Point Contest is the longest-running event of All-Star Saturday Night, as it has been held continuously since 1986. Two Celtics -- Ray Allen and Paul Pierce -- are among the six competitors in tonight's three-point contest, so expect some boos from the partisan Staples Center crowd in Los Angeles. Here are the details of tonight's long distance shootout:

  • Official Name: 2011 Foot Locker Three-Point Contest
  • TV Broadcast: TNT, as part of the NBA All-Star Saturday Night broadcast
  • Time: Sometime around 6:30 p.m. PST; the TNT broadcast runs from 5:30 to 8 p.m., with two events in front of the dunk contest
  • Competitors: Defending champ Pierce and his Boston teammate Allen are joined by Kevin Durant of the Thunder, Daniel Gibson of the Cavaliers, James Jones of the Heat, and Dorell Wright of the Warriors
  • Former Champs: Pierce won last year, while Allen won way back in 2011, when he was in Milwaukee. Find out the past winners here.
  • Why You Should Watch: Well, Ray Allen has made more three-pointers in NBA history. Or, you could see Pierce, who played at Morningside High in nearby Inglewood, try to do what he did last year:

NBA All-Star Saturday Night begins it's telecast on TNT at 5:30 p.m. PST. The Foot Locker Three-Point Contest will be the third event of the night, following Haier Shooting Stars and the Taco Bell Skills Competition with the Sprite Slam Dunk Contest to follow.