clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Slam Dunk Contest History & Past Champions

The Slam Dunk Contest is always the highlight of the Saturday night of NBA All-Star Weekend, and this year is no different. Blake Griffin of the Clippers is the home favorite, but he will face stiff competition from Serge Ibaka, JaVale McGee, and former USC Trojan DeMar DeRozan. Griffin is trying to become the first Clipper to win the slam dunk contest since Brent Barry, who did so as a rookie in 1996.

Here is a look at all the past winners of the NBA Slam Dunk Contest:

Fred Jones of the Pacers won the dunk contest the last time the event was held in Los Angeles, in 2004. The NBA All-Star Saturday Night telecast starts at 5 p.m. PST on TNT. The Sprite Slam Dunk Contest will be the final event of the night.