clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pac-12 Championship Game: LaMichael James Wins MVP, Oregon Ducks Advance To Sixth Rose Bowl With 49-31 Win Over UCLA Bruins

The Oregon Ducks won the inaugural Pac-12 Football Championship Game on Friday night, beating the UCLA Bruins 49-31 for their third consecutive conference crown and third consecutive BCS bowl game. The Ducks earned a berth in the 2012 Rose Bowl, their sixth-ever trip to Pasadena.

Junior tailback LaMichael James ran for 220 yards on 25 carries, the fourth game this season with 200 or more yards on the ground. James, who also scored three touchdowns, was named the game's MVP. "It means a lot. I love these guys right here," James said while gesturing to his teammates as he accepted the trophy.

Oregon, who lost to the Auburn Tigers in the 2011 BCS Championship Game, has played in five previous Rose Bowls, but hasn't won one since in 94 years:

  • 2010: Ohio State 26, Oregon 17
  • 1995: Penn State 38, Oregon 20
  • 1958: Ohio State 10, Oregon 7
  • 1920: Harvard 7, Oregon 6
  • 1917: Oregon 14, Pennsylvania 0

The Ducks will await the winner of Saturday's Big Ten Championship Game between the Wisconsin Badgers and Michigan State Spartans.

The 2012 Rose Bowl Game will be played on Monday, January 2, 2012 in Pasadena. Kickoff is scheduled for 2:10 p.m. PDT. The game will be televised by ESPN, with Brent Musberger, Kirk Hirbstreit, and Lisa Salters on the call. Stay tuned for more updates as the game approaches.