clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BCS Bowl Schedule: 2011 Rose Bowl Will Be TCU Vs. Wisconsin

The 2011 Rose Bowl Game, presented by Vizio, is now set, and will feature the TCU Horned Frogs and Wisconsin Badgers. TCU is ranked third in the final BCS standings, with Wisconsin at No. 5. TCU is undefeated this season, and has won 26 of its last 27 games, while the Badgers are 11-1, having only lost to Michigan State this season. The two schools have met just one time in their history, which resulted in a 14-14 tie on September 26, 1970.

TCU was the automatic replacement for the Pac-10 representative Oregon Ducks, who will be in the BCS national championship game against Auburn. TCU is just the fifth non-Pac-10 or Big Ten school since 1946 to appear in the Rose Bowl. Wisconsin finished their season tied atop the Big Ten conference with both Ohio State and Michigan State, but was awarded the Rose Bowl bid by virtue of being ranked the highest among those three schools in the BCS standings.

This is the seventh Rose Bowl for Wisconsin, who is 3-3 all-time in the game. Only Michigan (with 20) and Ohio State (14) have appeared in more Rose Bowls than Wisconsin among Big Ten teams. Here is a look at Wisconsin's history in the Rose Bowl:

  • 2000: AP No. 4 Wisconsin 17, No. 22 Stanford 9
  • 1999: No. 9 Wisconsin 38, No. 6 UCLA 31
  • 1994: No. 9 Wisconsin 21, No. 14 UCLA 16
  • 1963: No. 1 USC 42, No. 2 Wisconsin 37
  • 1960: No. 8 Washington 44, No. 6 Wisconsin 8
  • 1953: No. 5 USC 7, No. 11 Wisconsin 0

TCU has never played in the Rose Bowl, but they have appeared in a bowl game in each of the last five seasons, winning four of them. This is the second straight BCS bowl for the Horned Frogs, who lost the Fiesta Bowl last year to Boise State, 17-10.

The kickoff is scheduled for 2:10 p.m. PST on Saturday, January 1, 2011, and the game will be televised on ABC. Brent Musberger, Kirk Herbstreit, and Erin Andrews will broadcast the game.