clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLS Cup: Commissioner Don Garber On Next Year's Changes

MLS Commissioner Don Garber addressed the media today in his annual state of the league address, summing up this year, previewing the plans for next year, and announcing the MLS Starting XI as voted on my coaches and members of the media. The Los Angeles Galaxy have four players on this years MLS Starting XI: Donovan Ricketts at GK, Omar Gonzalez at DEF, Landon Donovan at MID, and Edson Buddle at FWD. The full team is:

Donovan Rickets - LA Galaxy - GK

Jamison Olave - Real Salt Lake - DEF

Nat Borchers - Real Salt Lake - DEF

Omar Gonzalez - LA Galaxy - DEF

Sebastien Le Toux - Philadelphia Union - MID

David Ferreira - FC Dallas - MID

Landon Donovan - LA Galaxy - MID

Javier Morales - Real Salt Lake - MID

Dwayne De Rosario - Toronto FC - MID

Edson Buddle - LA Galaxy - FWD

Chris Wondolowski - San Jose Earthquakes - FWD

So far of note from the commissioner's address, the Galaxy supporter's groups were praised for their display during the game on Sunday. The commissioner mentioned an authentic version of soccer, which he connected with Canadian soccer supporters, and these groups are the key to that vision. What authentic means is open to interpretation, but that coupled with all the talk of a single table league leans toward a reading of that being more like England.

To that end, the commissioner said that a Single Table league vs. two conferences has been on the docket every year since MLS began. He was also adamant that MLS will never do away with playoffs, no matter what the table format. He also said that an officiating task force was in the works, addressing a continued concern of MLS fans. 

MLS will see expansion into Vancouver and Portland next year, with Montreal and a second New York team on the horizon, though only Montreal is official. A second New York team will be the second true derby in MLS, with LA Galaxy - Chivas USA being the first. More relevant information from the buildup to MLS Cup 2010 will be posted as it comes.